Thread: Plane Line-Up

Question Plane Line-Up

Hello, I am a fairly long time lurker that posts very rarely but I need some advice.

First some background, I am new to woodworking and am in the process of adding the capability to work with rough lumber. I have decided to go the handplaning route since I have come to dislike the noise and dust of power tools and I find myself spending as much time setting up tools and jigs, as I do actually working on projects. Lastly I work in the garage which it right below my 3 year old daughters bedroom which makes working after 7:30 pm impossible.

So I have a couple of plane line-ups I was thinking of which would allow me to work quietly with rough lumber. They are all Veritas because I am Canadian and there is a Lee Valley in town and I like to support Canadian companies when I can.

So here is what I have come up with:
    I am settled on the BU Jointer and Jack and can afford only 2 of the following 4 planes, Small Plow, Skew Rabbet, Skew Block Rabbet, BU Smoother. What two should I buy to do the most quiet working I can?

I already have a LA Block plane, and have ordered a Bad Axe saw and MarkII honing jig and sharpening supplies.

I would go the small plow and bu smoother route! These are the one you will certainly use the most. Just my 2cents

Blog Entries
    I have said before that if I were starting out again, I'd limit my bench planes to three - the LV BU family. With other blades, you can opt for anything you need. I have LN and LV planes and while both are premeir, those three would take care of everything I need (in bench planes) and take up less room and in the end, is cheaper than trying to fit the bill with 7 or 8 planes in the same line-up.

A good block is a give me regardless of which brand you choose, but beyond that, I'd wait and determine which specialty plane fits your bill the best.