Thread: bandsaw blade not cutting

bandsaw blade not cutting

i started playing around with making simple bandsaw boxes. i got a new 3/16 blade from lee valley. it cut one fine then started burning and not cutting well. i think it is clogged up. can i fix this somehow?

Tooth count?

Is the blade sharp? Try a slow feed rate, different wood, and/or different blade...

And if there are no teeth on it... then I think you found the issue...
    Last edited by Ken Fitzgerald; 04-08-2010 at 10:06 PM.

We need more details.

What type of bandsaw?

How have you set it up/adjusted it?

Is there a blade tension/de-tension lever? Is it set correctly, to APPLY tension to the blade?

What else can YOU tell us ... that might be even remotely helpful ?

its a inca 10.5 inch. i think 14tpi. i started cutting bandsaw boxes out cut one it worked great started cutting another and it slowly lost cutting performance. i tried to clean the blade cause it had wood build up on it and it worked a little better but lost cutting performance really quick.

when i say bandsaw boxes i mean the simple ones i found a guide for on this website. cut off sides flip on edge cut out inside.

Don't take this question personally. I ask bkz I did it once:

Did you put the blade in upside down? It's easy to uncoil it the wrong way. That could explain why it worked for a little while then started burning.

Also, 14tpi is mighty fine. What's the thickness of the wood and what kind of wood is it?

Shawn, I have done that .. lol.

I don't like blades with that many teeth per inch for wood. They are painfully slow to cut with and don't leave that much of a better cut.. IMO..

3 TPI or 4TPI is a nice tooth count for a bandsaw, not sure if they come that fine..

Quote Originally Posted by cody michael View Post
    i... 14tpi. ...
    Too high a tooth count for anything much over 1/4 to 3/8 inch thick. Gullets are too small and load up much too quickly to use in anything thicker.