Thread: Maple tabletop with ridgid t3660 and/or BS?

Maple tabletop with ridgid t3660 and/or BS?

I'm a new woodworker looking to build a food-friendly tabletop. I'm thinking my Ridgid TS3660 (1&1/2 hp motor) might not be up to the task. It looks like hard maple is wood of choice but can be difficult to cut. I do have a new Frued 24 rip blade and would consider buying another blade if this would help. I can't justify buying a better TS now since I just bought this one.

I don't have a bandsaw yet, and am considering one....would buying a good one help with my problem?

Or is there another wood I should consider?

As long as your saw has exclusive use of a 15A 110V circuit, or is 220V wired, you should be fine with the 3660. Make sure the fence & blade are properly aligned too.

Tablesaw should work fine.

Stephen

Your tablesaw should be up to that task.
    The new rip blade is the best move you could make.
    If you have crosscuts to do, replace it with a good combo blade.

My tablesaw is a 60 year old Unisaw with 1 hp.
    It will not power through thick hardwood quickly, but if I
    carefully manage the feed rate, and use the proper blade, it will
    cut anything that I ask it to.
    I routinely work with cherry, and ash, of varying thickness.
    Cutting cherry without burning it can be a challenge with any saw.
    My underpowered Unisaw with a good blade will cut cherry cleanly without
    marking it, as long as I pay attention to the feed rate.

Good luck
    John

Hi Stephen,