Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: HVLP Finish Issues

HVLP Finish Issues

I am building a large home theater center and want to finish it semi-gloss white to match all the other woodwork in the living room. The cabinetry is constructed from 'lite' MDF with poplar trim.

I bought a Fuji 3 HVLP with a gravity feed gun to do the finishing. I have never used a HVLP before and am having trouble chosing the best material to spray.

I tried using SW enamel on a test board and while the finish looked great, the gun cleanup was difficult and the fumes (even with a respirator) was almost too much to take.

The local stores are only interested in promoting what they sell (which is understandable), but I can really use some insight from those who have experience doing this type of finishing.

I am so glad that I found this forum, I have learned a lot reading other's questions and answers.

Thanks
    Dave

Nothing is a waste of time if you use the experience wisely.

SW Alkyd enamel? You need a serious primer to start. You can use Bin pigmented shellac, alcohol base, or an alkyd primer. You need to fill the MDF before you prime it. I use joint compound, (mud) and use a trowel or a broad knife. Scrape the mud on and scrape it off, clean. Then let it haze, and sand with 220 and prime. The next issue is your respirator. You shouldn't smell any fumes at all. If you have a spray booth, I'd use lacquer. If you don't, I'd use a water base paint and hope for the best. When using a HVLP with water base paint or alkyd, you thin them way over what the manufacturer would recommend.
    Phil in Big D
    The only difference between a taxidermist and the taxman, is that the taxidermist leaves the skin. Mark Twain

Target Coatings EM6500 Bright White Pastel Base Coat

Dave - Try Target Coatings EM6500. The Bright White Pastel base coat can be used straight from the can. If you want you can tint using any UTC water based colorants. You won't need a primer coat, it can go straight onto MDF.