Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Circular Rectangular Lamps

Circular Rectangular Lamps

I made these for my daughters bedroom ( maybe dorm room when she goes off to college ) from 1/4" black acrylic with borg fluorescent diffuser trimmed to fit the panels. They are about 18.5" high and about 5.5" wide. This is my first attempt.

Everything went off pretty well except the light kit I purchased was defective. The first pic is with the lights off and the second is with the lights on. Pics are taken with the BlackBerry camera.

The bulbs are CFL's at 6500ēK - more of a bluish cast than the regular CFL's but went well with the diffuser sold as "cracked ice white."

My laser took about two hours and fifteen minutes to vector at recommended settings from Epilog. That's per lamp.

And I have to thank Frank Corker for the assist with the image. Thanks Frank!

Last edited by Greg Bednar; 02-28-2010 at 9:21 AM.
    Life and death don't bother me. It's that little period of time in between that bothers me.

Epilog Mini-24 40w with Rotary, Flame Polisher, CorelDRAW Graphics Suite X6, EngraveSoft, Windows 10 64-bit.

Great looking lamps. Thanks for posting.
    Mike Null

St. Louis Laser, Inc.

Trotec Speedy 300, 80 watt
    Gravograph IS400
    Woodworking shop CLTT and Laser Sublimation
    Dye Sublimation
    CorelDraw X5, X7

Blog Entries
    Very slick looking design... retro almost.
    Hi-Tec Designs, LLC -- Owner (and self-proclaimed LED guru )

Trotec 80W Speedy 300 laser w/everything
    CAMaster Stinger CNC (25" x 36" x 5")
    USCutter 24" LaserPoint Vinyl Cutter
    Jet JWBS-18QT-3 18", 3HP bandsaw
    Robust Beauty 25"x52" wood lathe w/everything
    Jet BD-920W 9"x20" metal lathe
    Delta 18-900L 18" drill press

Flame Polisher (ooooh, FIRE!)
    Freeware: InkScape, Paint.NET, DoubleCAD XT
    Paidware: Wacom Intuos4 (Large), CorelDRAW X5

ohhh I like those. Very nice
    Seaside Engraving & Embroidery
    Barudan 1 head embroidery machine