View Poll Results: What height would make dunking special for college and NBA?

Voters
41. You may not vote on this poll
  • Leave it at 10'

12 29.27%
  • 11.0'

5 12.20%
  • 11.5'

7 17.07%
  • 12.0'

7 17.07%
  • 12.5'

10 24.39%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Raise the goal, I知 no longer impressed.

Raise the goal, I知 no longer impressed.

Back in the 60s when dunking was illegal, the starting lineup for my high school team would dunk during warm-ups to intimidate the opposition. They ranged in height from 5'11" to 6'3" and all five of them could easily dunk the ball on a 10' goal. I was impressed.

Today; when I watch the average* NBA player dunk the ball, I知 underwhelmed. Big deal, I could do that when I was a sophomore in high school.

I say, raise the goal and make dunking the ball special again.

How high should it be? 11', 11.5', 12', 12.5'

Let your voice be heard. VOTE !

*2007-2008 NBA season (average height 6'7" and making $65,317 per game, plus benefits and endorsements)
    Last edited by Harry Hagan; 02-23-2010 at 6:46 PM.

I say do away with the NBA and let them folks get a real job
    Dave

IN GOD WE TRUST
    USN Retired

I have thought they should raise it for years. I just returned home from Arizona, and went to a Suns game while there. There is no doubt that everybody on that team, with the exception of maybe Steve Nash could stand flat footed and dunk. I voted 11.5.

Lol, as someone who can't play basketball well I'm still impressed. Maybe the vertical height isn't so hard for them. But the acrobatics of jumping around people and various ball handling/positions while flying through the air makes me go WOW occasionally.