Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: cherry demilune (half-round) table

cherry demilune (half-round) table

Hi,

This is my first project post to the Creek; an Xmas gift for the LOML. I picked up some useful tips for building this table from here (around how to bend the apron), and I thought that I would share the results.

I used a variety of joinery on this project; sliding dovetails for the curved aprons to the legs, mortise and tenon for the back apron to the legs, and biscuits for the drawer supports. I'll try to "standardize" a little more in the future. I think I spent as much time building the different jigs for the project as I did on the project itself, but now the next one I make will go faster ;-)

I was going to put on a drawer knob, but my wife voted against it (she likes the "hidden drawer look" (glad I waited and asked). The finish is Watco's and about 7 coats of wipe-on shellac.

Feedback and comments are welcome....
    Attached Images Attached Images

Excellent piece of furniture. Why standardize on the joinery? Go for it!
    Tom

Very nice!

Tom, that is a very nice piece, I'm a big fan of simple elegant form. The cherry looks great.

I would be interested to see more photos of the drawer tie pieces (or whatever it is they are called) which show how they join. I love the "hidden" drawer, and have been thinking of building a similar piece. Also, how did you build the drawer itself, I can't tell how the front joins the sides?

OK, so doesn't tradition allow for a new tool at the completion of a piece for your own home? That's what I tell my wife!

Elegant piece

Simple and perfectly finished. I too would like to see the drawer joinery.

Very nice piece. I am also a fan of the simple but elegant look.

Just a very very nice little table - you did a great job on it.

Very nice grain and color match, and just overall a well done piece. I enjoy seeing all the joinery and special touches - much better than "standardized" construction!