Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Walnut lumber questions

Walnut lumber questions

I have the opportunity to get some rough cut, air dried Walnut for about $2.50-$3.50 a b.f. It is being sold by a guy who cut down a tree on his property. It has been air dried for about 3 years now and ranges from 3/4 to 8/4 (widths from 6” – 12”)
    I have not had the opportunity to go and see it yet (2.5 hr drive) and wanted to get some advice on what I should look for when I go look at it. He has a little of 1,000 b.f and said most is of good quality. I am new to walnut and rough cut lumber so any advice would help. I don’t want to waste money on lumber that won’t be able to be used for furniture and other projects. I have access to a moisture meter if I need it. Thank you.

I'm no expert, but you'd probably want to bring a moisture meter to check the wood. A lot of folks recommend bringing a block plane to check out the grain. And of course see how much pith there is and how knotty the wood is, and if the amount of twist or bowed boards there are.

If everything checks out, it sounds like you could have a nice score there.

Good luck!

Sapwood is usually frowned upon in walnut, and walnuts have a fairly wide band of it. Don't pay a premium for a lot of sapwood.

What kind range MC should I be looking for in air dried walnut?

As someone who has cut and processed his own walnut, watch out for:
    Nails and other things embedded in the tree. They aren't always in the sapwood.
    Checks and splits from voids or improper drying
    Warps- if you need to machine out a bunch of twisting to get flat boards then the wood isn't worth as much
    Sapwood- don't pay anything for sapwood. It isn't dimensionally stable, doesn't stain well, and it isn't pretty.
    Knots- Good walnut doesn't contain many, if any knots.

Note that any plank with funky grain is going to relax and warp a bit when you resaw it- plan for this.