Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Alternate Uses for Power Tools......

Alternate Uses for Power Tools......

Woodworkers are self-taught leaders at improvising. But when you're working on problems outside of the "workshop" and you have all those power tools at your disposal, anything can happen.

I just chased a mouse out of my kitchen, into the laundry room. It ran into a hole in the dryer vent hose (where it aparently entered my house) and into the PVC venting under the house.

I went outside and looked into the vent and saw him (about 8-10 feet away) laughing at me. Since I was afraid he would run back up into the house, I turned on the dryer. Didn't work - he still stared at me from his little nesting place where it was warm.

That's when I drug my 2HP portable dust collector through the kitchen & out onto the porch (as far as the cord would reach). The 20' long 4" dia. hose was just long enough to get to the outside vent.

I shut off the dryer, removed the louvered vent flap, and sucked the mouse out of my house. Not only did I get the mouse, but I cleaned all the lint out of the venting system and dryer.

Man, I'm going to write a great review on that dust collector!

So....What are the strangest things you've used power tools for?

um.....did the mouse go through an impeller? yuck...

clever though! nicely done.
    I wondered why the baseball was getting bigger....then it hit me.

Got a mouse with my pin nailer. Since it doesn't have a safety, it worked quite well at a 3ft distance.
    Never, under any circumstances, consume a laxative and sleeping pill, on the same night

That's great. My wife has recently suggested that I use the dust collector to clean our dryer vent. The suggestion came after I had verbally pondered the idea of cleaning the HVAC ducts with the DC.