Thread: Another Chuck Question...

Another Chuck Question...

I must have been a good boy this year because Santa just emailed me the tracking number for my new PM 3520. I am kind of new to turning, I had an old Craftsman lathe that I used to play around with, but nothing serious. I am interested in doing some bowl turning. In addition, I build and sell birdhouses and go through lots of spindles and finials, so I would like to attempt to produce some custom variations. I will need and chuck and have been researching the various models. It sounds like the Oneway Talon and Subernova2 are both good chucks but I am still unsure which one to get. They say the Talon's serrated jaws have excellent holding power, but won't they dig into the wood leaving marks? And how does that effect re-chucking? With the current sales, there is not a huge price difference. Any late breaking thoughts as to which one is the better option?

Thanks
    -Joe

P.S. - I apologize in advance for numerous stupid questions I will probably be asking in the near future.

Congratulations on one heck of a Christmas toy!

Since you specifically are talking about finials for birdhouses and such -- i.e. small pieces -- I'm going to suggest that you might steer away from the SN2, at least until the rumored new jaw sets become available. I have found that a compression grip on small parts (less than 1.5") is the big hole in the Nova jaw line. The pin jaws are essentially useless in compression mode, and I don't believe the 1" bowl jaws are any better. Hopefully something new is coming for that.

The Talon would be a good choice with the #1 jaws. I have been using a Stronghold with #1 jaws for small work lately. (Seems dumb to use a big chuck for smal work, but it actually works very well.)