Thread: Inlay with scroll saw tilt?

Inlay with scroll saw tilt?

I don't know why I didn't think of this... it's explained a little here in this article about tilting your scroll saw when you make your cuts on both pieces of stock so that you can get a tight fit.

I'm sure this is normal work, I'm a scroll saw newbie when it comes to this.

Is there any other articles out there that show this more in detail, books, video's etc? It sounds simple enough I just don't picture the entire workings of this.

Thanks all,
    Travis

Quote Originally Posted by travis howe View Post
    I don't know why I didn't think of this... it's explained a little here in this article about tilting your scroll saw when you make your cuts on both pieces of stock so that you can get a tight fit.

I'm sure this is normal work, I'm a scroll saw newbie when it comes to this.

Is there any other articles out there that show this more in detail, books, video's etc? It sounds simple enough I just don't picture the entire workings of this.

Thanks all,
    Travis
    Travis, what article? I'm also a SS newbie, and I am also interested in inlay work. You've got my curiosity up now.
    Mickey

http://video.google.com/videosearch?...+scroll+saw&um

There are so many videos on utube today you can just about find anything. Inlay work is quite easy using the scrollsaw. Go to scrolled inlay box part one. Just requires stacking and tilting the blade. Just think about it if you did not tilt the blade the kerf of the saw blade would allow the piece to just fall through. Tilting the blade left or right determines which way the inlay piece is inserted into the main piece. There are times you may want it to stand proud or to be recessed. You can also sand to be flush. Steve Good has a blog and is an accomplished scroller. Check it out and it will be obvious when seen it done. Hope you post some photos of the projects you are working on. Have a great day.
    John T.

now with attachment!