Thread: Newbie here

Newbie here

Greetings All,
    My name is Aaron and I am new to woodworking. I am learning and attempting to aquire the nessesary tools to have a handtool only woodshop. Why my wife insists on parking her car in my woodshop is beyond me, but that's another thread. Attached you will find my latest project, a counter top for our laundry room. I dressed and joined five red oak boards for the top. When my wife mentioned she might want to drop a sink in it I decided to put a lip on the edge and added 3/4 inch plywood underneath. The plywood is attached with wood screws to allow for movement. I learned quite a bit on this project:
    1. Next time I'll tongue and groove the boards or at least rabbet them
    2. Cutting 3/4" sheet goods with a 14 inch tool box saw is hard work
    3. Hand scrapers are magical once you get them tuned correctly
    4. Cutting 3/4" sheet goods with a 14 inch tool box saw is hard work
    5. I need a good crosscut saw, but at this point would take a bad one
    6. Cutting 3/4" shee , , , you get the idea

The finish is a varnish/boiled linseed oil/spirits mix, about 5-6 coats with a little sanding in between. The lumber dressing and jointing was done with machines as I just recently aquired a jointer plane and I'm tuning it as we speak (King Kut No. 8) but scrapers and hand drills finished the project out. Glad to be here and I look forward to learning from you all. Thank you for reading.
    ~Aaron
    Attached Images Attached Images

Oops

I must apoligize. I thought I had posted this in the projects section. Would one of the mods mind moving this to a more appropriate area? I will pay more attention next time.
    ~Aaron "It's a Wonder I Still Have All My Fingers" Hall

Nice looking top! Oil/varnish finishes are a favorite of mine too! If you drop a sink in there, though, you might consider a more durable varnish.