Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I'm afraid to buy new tools

Talking I'm afraid to buy new tools

They always seem to bring family and friends! As a beginning hobbyist, I try to buy things on a needed basis but last time rockler had a sale, I figured I could use a set of chisels and a angle plane. Then I realized they weren't really sharp. Then come a some sharpening stones, honing guide and a grinder for hollow grinding. The grinder bring its own friends, white wheel, dressing stick, wheel truing stick, grinding guide. AHHH, should have left the chisels alone .

Same goes for the on sale starter dust collection kit. It came with some 2 1/2 tubes, blast gates. It brought more flex hoses, addtional adapters, dust ports, and a bunch more. Should've just stayed with the current shop vacuum

Oh well, rant's over. I'll need them at some point i guess

5 years ago All of my tools fit into one toolbox. That over flowed into two, and then one massive one in an attempt to combine them. That attempt failed shortly after and I had 3 toolboxes full of tools. A few years later I had more than I could fit in my van. Now I have an 800+ square foot shop and I am starting to reach space limitations. Eventually I hope to build my own shop with plenty of room to spare for even more/larger equipment.

At least the endless spiral found in woodworking is much more constructive than other things you could waste money on.
    Last edited by Michael Schwartz; 10-13-2009 at 5:14 PM.

Is it not great? I started with a skil saw, drill and a few hand tools. Now I have trouble walking around in my 12 x 24 shop with attached 10 x 12 building. Just go with it.

Blog Entries