Thread: Oak Dish

Oak Dish

Need a few more items for a craft show my wife is doing in a couple months. Everybody needs one of these, a place to toss your keys and loose change at the end of the day. About 6-1/2" dia. with a couple wire-burned lines, slight recess between the lines, and a couple rows of pyro texturing. No finish yet except a coat of sanding sealer. C. & C. always welcome.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Richard in Wimberley

nice work. pyro stuff always looks good in oak
    14x48 custom 2hp 9gear lathe
    9 inch pre 1940 craftsman lathe
    36 inch 1914 Sydney bandsaw (BEAST)
    Wood in every shelf and nook and cranny,,, seriously too much wood!

Nicely executed!

newb question

Not looking for trade secrets...well yeah I am, but how is such a piece attached to the headstock. Looks too thin for a faceplate with screws. Tenon in a chuck? Told you I was a newb.
    Mickey

Mickey,
    It's about 1-3/4" thick, so a faceplate with 1" or even 1-1/4" screws would have worked. I just started it between centers, turned and sanded the outside, and turned a recess in the bottom (about 1/4" deep) with a dovetail tenon in the center of the recess. I just prefer to grip on a tenon rather than expand into a recess, having split a couple of pieces by the latter. Reversed on to a chuck, drilled a depth hole so I don't have to keep checking to see if I have arrived at the bottom, turned and sanded the inside, turned and burned the two grooves and turned a slight recess between the grooves. Reversed against a friction chuck and turned the tenon down to a nub. Removed nub with chisel and hammer, and power sanded the bottom of the recess through 320. No trade secrets, but hope this might be helpful. There are usually several ways to do a thing, and different ways work well for different folks.

Keep asking questions, and in the fullness of time you can become one of those answering the questions.

Thanks Curtis and Gary.
    Richard in Wimberley