Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 3 phase converter

3 phase converter

Who here has used phase converters. I got my hands on a Baldor 5hp 3phase motor I would like to put on my bandsaw if It will work. I dont know much other then I need a phase converter. What do I need and what is the cost for a converter? The motor is the same rpm as the 2hp 230 on my saw now.

Thanks

Factorymation . Com has very reasonably priced phase converters. You should also be able to do some research at their site. I'm no expert, but I've read that you may be limited on the hp rating that it's feasible to convert. $ wise that is. You will also lose some of your hp rating when converted. There will be more knowledgeable people along later to help you out.

Rpc

I made this RPC from a wiring diagram off of the website www.practicalmachinist.com and owwm.org And here,there are several pages of information of what others have done facing the same thing you are.Like the other poster said,phase converter or VFD will be big bucks for a 5hp----Carroll
    Last edited by Carroll Courtney; 09-05-2009 at 6:24 PM.

I bought a 20 hp American Rotary brand rotary converter and if I ever need to buy another one I won't even consider anything else. Their rotary converters are balanced to be able to deliver nearly full hp. They also sell static converters but they clearly state on their website that, by design, all static converters no matter who makes it will only deliver about 2/3 of the motors rated hp. Their rotary converters come complete with a starter box so all you have to do is run the wiring. I don't know what size converter you are considering but you need to be sure you have a large enough electical service to run one. I installed my converter on a 100 amp breaker.

I disagree with the statement that they cost big bucks. A 5 hp AR converter is less than $500. The 20 hp like I bought is under $1300. For me to have 3 ph service run to my shop was going to cost me $15,000.