Thread: Active Headphones & The Shop

Active Headphones & The Shop

As many folks know, I travel "a bit" for business. Many times I took note of fellow travelers using the Bose QuietComfort headphones to dull the roar of the airplane as well as to listen to a variety of media. On several occasions, I got to "try them out" for a few minutes and was convinced they were incredible. For those of you unfamiliar with these or similar devices, they have active electronics that measure the ambient sound and cut out extranious noise. Shooters also use simliar technology to help protect their hearing.

As you can imagine, I recently ended up with a set of my own QuitetComfort II headphones and I look forward to enjoying them on those long (and short) flights, whether used alone or with a sound source, such as an MP3 player, PC-DVD player or aircraft sound system. (Gotta find time to watch those Woodworking at Home DVDs sometime!)

But, of course, as a woodworker, I said, "Hmm...I wonder how they would work in the shop and around the tractor?" Tested that out today and I was pleased with the results. While not as quiet as some forms of hearing protection, they did a pretty darn good job at taking the scream out of the shop vac and the roar out of the DC port on the J/P. And I could still hear the radio and other "normal" sounds when something loud wasn't happening. (frequency response to my ears from the shop stereo was altered, particularly in the bass range, but not horribly so considering the goal was not for high fidelity).