Thread: Drill press cart

Drill press cart

My drill press is too short for sitting on the ground and too tall for a normal cabinet so I made a roll-around cart.

This is my first attempt a cabinet with drawers and it includes a lot of "firsts" for me. I did bridle-like joints and moritise/tenon joints for the carcass. The mortise/tenon joints were probably a bad idea because of the direction of the grain. For the sides I used pegboard to hold things like screwdrivers etc.

So why would I build a cabinet like this when ply works fine? Because I had extra wood lying around and no extra ply .

I also did something really silly for the drawer pulls: I dovetailed them into the top of the drawer fronts.

Mostly I was just playing .

Last edited by Salem Ganzhorn; 08-16-2009 at 5:05 PM.

I think you'll have that cart for many, many years. Probably even pass it down to your kids!

Good work.
    Duane McGuire

Quote Originally Posted by Duane McGuire View Post
    I think you'll have that cart for many, many years. Probably even pass it down to your kids!

Good work.
    I am not so sure . The pine-ish wood I had lying around is about the softest wood I have ever seen. It makes HD 2x4's look like oak!

But thanks for the compliment, it was fun to build.
    Salem

Blog Entries
    Nice cart and good practice.

Salem, I really like your cart especially the dove tail handle ( thats a great idea ) ....that should last forever
    Dave

IN GOD WE TRUST
    USN Retired

Hello,
    The pine-ish wood I had lying around is about the softest wood I have ever seen. It makes HD 2x4's look like oak!
    4 or 5 coats of shellac will actually "harden" the wood.
    Preferrably orange shellac.

No - it won't work miracles, but, it will provide a barrier to everyday scuffs and bruises.

I just got done sanding 50 year old shellac w/a coat of paint over it off of some 50+ year old soft pine trim.