Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First Shoulder Plane Reccomendations

First Shoulder Plane Reccomendations

Hi All,

I'm fairly new to Handtool usage and am just starting to aquire tools as I need them. So far I have a #5 Jack plane a #7 Jointer and LA Block plane.

My first big project is to build my Roubo bench.

I've never done mortise and tenon joinery with hand tools, but from what I've read a shoulder plane will be very useful for tuning the tenons. I see several vendors that carry shoulder planes in 3/4", 1" and 1-1/4" sizes.

My question is: I know a 1-1/4" shoulder plane will be useful for the large tenons when building the Roubo, but if that is the one shoulder plane I were to get right now, is that size too bulky for most furniture size joinery (Rabbets, and tenons)?

Thanks,

Chris

To me the three main players are Lie Nielsen, Lee Valley and Stanley.

If it were me, I would look at the Stanley 92's. They can be both a shoulder plane and a chisel plane. They are quite useful. You can still buy them new (at least you could a year or two ago) and many are on the large auction site.

The Lee Valley medium is really good
    "All great work starts with love .... then it is no longer work"

Another vote for the medium L. V. I'm building a more or less conventional workbench and my L.V. medium shoulder plane was real handy for trimming and cleaning up tennons on the leg stretchers.

Blog Entries
    +1 LV medium. I got to compare several side by side at the show. It makes a difference to get your hands on them. When that's not possible, the Creeker's comments are the next best thing. For tenon fitting or any kind of tongue work, it rocks.
    "A hen is only an egg's way of making another egg".

– Samuel Butler

something to think about

This may throw a little wrench in your decision. Have you considered the LN joinery floats. They have a couple of very nice floats that work very well on tenons. They are also not very expensive --$60 or so.