Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Shopping list ***Opinions and comments pleas***

Shopping list ***Opinions and comments pleas***

Going in head first...

I'm selling an old Camaro to equip my woodworking shop. I expect to get at least $6,000 for it and have been doing some shopping.

I already have a good table saw, router, biscuit cutter set and a 10" and 8" cut-off saws as well as a few cordless and corded tools and air compressor with several air tools.

So I put together a list of the various pieces of equipment needed to have a well equiped shop. I plan on turning mid to large bowls and making some furniture. I am a fairly experienced woodworker but havent done a lot in several years.

So any input on any of the machines I have picked out would be appreciated. I'm not sure about the brand of band saw I picked out and could go as much as $1k for that item...

The only things I can comment on are the Planer and Jointer. I own the same models and have been very pleased with them. Since I've no experience with any other type, I have nothing to compare and contrast with so you can take my comment for whatever you feel it might be worth. But, I have no regrets with those two machines.

What's the "fee" entries?
    Tom Veatch
    Wichita, KS
    USA

I think that would be a nice collection of tools to add to the shop I will offer my 2 cents and suggest 2 changes. I would look at a dust collector with more cfm than the Jet DC 650, mine just seems a bit lacking. I would also look at an 8 inch jointer. I have the Jet 6 inch and I am very pleased with it, except when I want to joint a board wider than 6 inches.

The fee is overweight trucking but there is a Woodcraft in Sacramento about three hours from me so I may make sure they have what I need ready to go and then make the trek to go pick em up in me ole pick-em up truck (hope it all fits).
    They also have ten percent off right now