PDA

View Full Version : quick chargers

Gregg Feldstone
12-26-2008, 6:28 PM
Do quick chargers wear out batteries faster than 1hr or trickle chargers? I am only concerned with NiMh or NiCad batteries, no Lion yet.

Gregg Feldstone
12-27-2008, 7:25 AM
any thoughts?

Barry Vabeach
12-27-2008, 12:41 PM
Grigg, I am no expert, but understand that heat kills batteries. so long as they stay cool, I would guess that a quick charger is as good, or better than a longer charger. The manufacturers used to warn against leaving the battery plugged into the charger too long and said it would shorten the life of the battery. One other thing I read is that the lighter the charger, the better , the light charger apparently has a more sopdisticated charging system that is friendlier to the batteries that the heavy charger. IIRC, NIMH is supposed to survive more charging cycles than NICAD, all other things being equal, though the NIMH discharges on the shelf much quicker than NICAD, so you may end up charging it more frequently.

Scott Conners
12-27-2008, 1:59 PM
NiCad and NiMH both suffer from the memory effect, but NiCad is much more effected. What this means is that if they are not fully discharged before they are recharged, they won't take quite as much of a charge, and will slowly lose capacity. Charging slower has two major benefits, with one being that the battery doesn't get as hot, which is better for the life of the battery, and it gives the cells in each pack a better chance to even out and each take a full charge. On some chargers, the voltage peak is not detected as precisely during a fast charge, which can stop the charge slightly before a true peak.