PDA

View Full Version : How to get rid of that burr

Andrew Thuswaldner
12-26-2008, 10:57 AM
I got a MK II honing guide and some Norton water stones (220, 1000, 4000) for Christmas and I'm having my first go at fixing up an old plane blade. Keep in mind that I'm brand new at this so I'm quite certain that none of the issues have to with the equipment but rather the operator. I determined that the original blade angle was about 25 degrees so I set up the honing guide for that angle. The plane blade had what I thought was a pretty small nick but it did take me quite a bit of time with the 220 stone to remove the nick but I was pleased with the nice even looking bevel that was created from a that work. The issue was the burr that curled over to the face side of the blade. According to the Norton literature that came with the stones they say the burr means it's time to switch to the next stone. So I went to the 1000x and the big burr did go away leaving me with smaller burr, so then I went to the 400 stone. I got a nice (I'd call it almost shiny) bevel, the problem is the cutting edge of the blade is not a nice straight line but looks kind of jagged. Any ideas for what I need to change? The blade, by the way, is "Made in Western Germany" and the plane itself is an Este, approximately 9 inches long and 2 1/8 inches wide.
Your advice would be most appreciated.
Thanks, Andrew

Orlando Gonzalez
12-26-2008, 11:31 AM
Hi Andrew,