PDA

View Full Version : A question about fuel economy to all the boy geniuses..and girls

Michael Gibbons
12-23-2008, 6:51 PM
... Do you think we have tapped all the energy available in a drop of gas? I'm far from an engineer but I have heard that for every 100 lbs you remove from a vehicle you gain about 5 hp which would probably get you more MPH. So all the car companies have to do now is lighten the cars without sacrificing safety, correct??.. BTW, at what speed do they test vehicles to come up with the gas mileage ratings on the window sticker??

Brian Willan
12-23-2008, 7:05 PM
... Do you think we have tapped all the energy available in a drop of gas? I'm far from an engineer but I have heard that for every 100 lbs you remove from a vehicle you gain about 5 hp which would probably get you more MPH. So all the car companies have to do now is lighten the cars without sacrificing safety, correct??.. BTW, at what speed do they test vehicles to come up with the gas mileage ratings on the window sticker??

Not even close to tapping all the energy in a drop of gas. The internal combustion engine is about 15% efficient according to http://www.fueleconomy.gov/FEG/atv.shtml. Diesel engines are more efficient than gas. Still nowhere close to using all of the energy available.

A gallon of gas has about 35KWh of energy. Now if you want to talk about efficient motors, electric is the way to go. Most electric motors are well over 85% efficient.

Cheers

Brian

Larry Edgerton
12-23-2008, 7:24 PM