PDA

View Full Version : head stock and tail placement questions!

andrew zukewycz
12-22-2008, 12:59 AM
while reading some other posts i saw a pic of STEVE SCHLUMPF turning a piece and talking about his awesome new tool his neighbor sent him.

in the picture it appears he is working on the "wrong";) end of the lathe. since im a novice, every video or book ive seen shows the head and tail stock to the turners left of the bed. but this pic illistrates everything over to the right side.

is there a reason for this? i have often thought while turning pieces to big for my lathe that i should move the whole head stock to the middle to reduce vibration, but ive allways been unsure.

anyways, just wondering if there was any methodology i was unaware of:confused:, or a trick i was missing.

thanks
zuke.

p.s. im hoping steve responds, since it was him in the pic i presume...:D

andrew zukewycz
12-22-2008, 1:01 AM
the pics are under the thread called "christmas gouge gloat"

http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?t=99514

that link might work.

thx.

zuke

Reed Gray
12-22-2008, 3:15 AM
A sliding headstock gives you a combination lathe; a long bed spindle lathe when the headstock is on the far left, and a short bed bowl lathe when you move the headstock towards the right end. Mostly this means that when you turn bowls, you don't have to bend over the lathe to turn out the inside of the bowl. A huge back saver if you spend a lot of time on your lathe. It is also nice for turning boxes and hollow forms.
robo hippy

Steve Schlumpf
12-22-2008, 8:14 AM
Zuke - good question!