PDA

View Full Version : Best Way to Trim Face Frames to Fit Cabinets

Adam Slutsky
12-21-2008, 6:56 PM
I am making some built in cabinets (10 total) out of birch plywood with poplar face frames. Everything will be painted. I attached the face frames to the cabinets with nails and glue but made the frames a bit too large and intended to trim them to fit. At first I was thinking of doing it with a router and then hitting the last few inches with a hand plane. Now I'm thinking maybe I could just use a belt sander or maybe just a hand plane to take off the 1/16 to 1/8" overlap. Any ideas? What is the usual way that cabinet makers do this?

This is my first project after about a 20 year hiatus so my skills are not that sharp. Any ideas or thoughts are greatly appreciated!

Don Bullock
12-21-2008, 7:08 PM
Adam, like you I took at least a twenty year break from woodworking. You have found the right group to give you good answers to your questions. Welcome to Sawmill Creek and welcome back to woodworking.

David DeCristoforo
12-21-2008, 7:17 PM
Flush trim (I use a 1/2" 3 "flute" trimmer) as close as you can and clean up the corners with a sharp paring chisel. Belt sander... scary! Also, try to get the frames an boxes to match as closely as possible. If you leave too much frame overhang you can end up with unsightly offsets where vertical (stiles) and horizontal (rails) members intersect. Not so much of an issue with painted cabs.

Joe Vincent
12-21-2008, 7:59 PM
Yeah, I'd go with a flush trimming bit on a router. Last time I did that, however, I had the bit tear out a couple of chunks on the side of the face frame. But I'm guessing that was because of grain orientation issues.

Kelvin Penner
12-21-2008, 8:02 PM
Adam,