PDA

View Full Version : Shellac

Mike Conley
03-14-2003, 2:36 PM
I purchased some shellac at Rockler to experiment with. I have never used shellac before and the salesman at Rockler said it is one of the harder finishes to apply.

Is it really that hard to apply?

What tips can you guys give me?

Dennis Peacock
03-14-2003, 2:52 PM
Depends on what you are wanting to use it on.

French Polishing? Yep.....a toughy to learn and do well.
Padding? Not too bad but must be practiced to get good at it.
Brushing? Easy.....keep the brush wet, brush in one direction and you must work quickly to keep a "wet edge" so you won't have lap marks.

I am "learning to like" shellac.....but I have fallen in love with Lacquer.

jerry cousins
03-14-2003, 4:14 PM
i've been using shellac for the past year and find that it's really an easy finish to apply (not referring to the french polishing). i use a 1 pound cut. wad up a piece of clean cotton (no wrinkles on the application surface), dampen it with denatured alcohol, put the shellac on it and make long strokes across the piece. kind of like an airplane landing and taking off - long sweeping movement. just keep replenishing the pad with shellac as needed (usually when you feel it dragging). i usually put on about 4 or 5 coats. each previous coat is disolved by the alcohol. but be a bit careful on the edges - it tends to build up. a soft sanding with 320 or 400 between coats helps. shellac is also an easy finish to repair,since the coats melt into each other, but it does not stand up well to water or hard use. for those pieces, i really use the shellac as a sanding sealer and then spray at least 2 coats of lacquer. and finally, a couple of coats of hard wax.

hope this helps

jerry

Dr. Zack Jennings
03-14-2003, 4:47 PM
Practice, Practice
Shellac really is a nice finish. I think I read you can put shellac over any other finish and any finish over shellac.