PDA

View Full Version : Painted kitchen cabinet and philipping mahogany plywood

Denise Ohio
12-17-2008, 4:42 PM
I'm just flailing wildly here, so have pity.

In the next few months I'll be building our kitchen cabinets. We're going to paint them. I thought I'd start by thinking about the end result we want: tough, glossy, easy to clean finish.

I found a craigslisting for Philippine mahogany plywood, but wonder if it would be too difficult to get the desired finish. I've never worked with it before, hence why I say I am just flailing wildly.

Your opinions are appreciated. I haven't bought the material yet, so if you have other suggestions, great.

As always, TIA.

Jamie Buxton
12-17-2008, 8:15 PM
Lauan has largish pores. You might not like the way it looks with a gloss varnish on it. Using a grain filler would fill the pores, but be lots and lots of work.

Another issue with lauan is that it is somewhat soft. A thumbnail will dent it. In the field, that's probably not an issue, but if you use solid lumber at corners and such, they'll ding more easily than something like maple.

I'd go with paint-grade maple for your project. Considering how many construction hours you're going to put in it, squeezing pennies out of the material cost doesn't make sense to me. Paint-grade 3/4" maple plywood runs about $45 per sheet in my dealers.

Von Bickley
12-18-2008, 7:53 AM
For painted cabinets, I would use birch plywood with maple or poplar face frames...... :)

Denise Ohio
12-18-2008, 6:40 PM
The Creek never fails me.

Now I better start saving my pennies for birch or maple ply.

Steve Schoene
12-18-2008, 7:04 PM