PDA

View Full Version : Powermatic 45 vs. Rockwell 46-450

Dan Cobian
12-17-2008, 8:05 AM
Second posting on this site and the the last one helped me quite a bit, looking for a repeat performance. Looking at 2 lathes that are local. Both are 240v 3 Phase 1 HP.

The powermatic 45 is selling for $450 and the Rockler 46-450 is up for auction starting at $300.

I plan on turning mainly bowls and I know (after my last post) that I will have to spend another $120 on a frequency converter.

Any thoughts?

Bob Hallowell
12-17-2008, 8:20 AM
Both are a great price but the delta going down to 320rpm is great plus it is only $300. It would be my choice.

Bob

Bernie Weishapl
12-17-2008, 10:06 AM
Rockwell would be my choice. Would make a great lathe with the VFD on it.

Bob Bergstrom
12-17-2008, 10:36 AM
I've been turning on my 450 for 15 years. Only thing I've replaced is the bearings. The lowest speed is 340. This is the outboard table I built to turn up to 24". Both lathes are tanks. See it here http://i306.photobucket.com/albums/nn274/bbergst/IMG_0302.jpg

Bill Bolen
12-17-2008, 11:14 AM
I turned on both of these lathes a number of years ago and both are real tanks. I think I lean towards the Delta with the lower speed though. My big question to you is, is the swing big enough since you mainly want to turn bowls? You will find you will want to try bigger and bigger and unless you can turn outboard on one of these you will be limited...Bill...

Wilbur Pan
12-17-2008, 11:23 AM
What's the swing over the bed on these lathes? Having had a gap bed lathe in the past, I can say that the gap isn't going to be really useful for anything besides platters if you are using a modern day chuck. So if you are looking at turning bowls, I'd go with whichever lathe gives you the bigger swing over the bed.