PDA

View Full Version : Shop Fox Lathe

Bill Mitchel
12-16-2008, 5:34 PM
Does anyone have any experience with the Shop Fox Lathe? Looks like a Jet clone. Here's a link http://www.bibbtool.com/product/5386.

Thanks
Bill

Fred LeBail
12-16-2008, 9:24 PM
Bill,
Don't know anything about the lathe but am sure happy with my Shop Fox molder which is a clone of the W&H molder.

Bill Bolen
12-16-2008, 9:27 PM
600 rpm for the low speed will be a problem with heavier out of balance pieces. In this case slower ismuch better...Bill...

Bernie Weishapl
12-16-2008, 9:40 PM
I would be a little hesitant to buy one with the low speed of 600 rpm.

Steve Schlumpf
12-16-2008, 10:13 PM
Bill - I agree with everyone else, 600 rpm is pretty fast when roughing out blanks. It can be done (I started out with a Craftsman with a minimum speed of 875 rpm) but it can also be a lot more excitement than you want when turning! Also, I am not an electrician, but the specs say the lathe is 2 hp 110v. I always thought the most you could get with 110v was 1.5 hp. Course, that is probably with a stock 20 amp circuit... Like I said, not an expert but is something I would check into.

Good luck with your research!

Brian Brown
12-16-2008, 11:07 PM
I found a listing on Craigslist yesterday for one new for $450. Seemed like a great price, maybe too good, so I did a little research. My current lathe has a low end speed of 500 rpm, and is much too adventerous for roughing out blanks, so the Shopfox 600 rpm low speed is unacceptable for me. The "digital tachometer made it sound like it has electronic variable speed which it does not. I decided to take a pass, because it was missing what I consider the "essentials" for me.

Mike Lipke
12-17-2008, 7:19 AM
With lathes, you really do "get what you pay for".

Not only do you lack variable speed, low rpm, it comes in pretty light in the lbs department.

Rick Prosser
12-17-2008, 4:59 PM