PDA

View Full Version : Sharpening - Which ONE book/DVD would you buy as a newbie?

Lyndon Graham
12-15-2008, 9:37 PM
The header says it all. Which ONE book/DVD would you buy? Thanks.

Brian Sullivan
12-15-2008, 10:29 PM
Sharpening Woodworking Tools DVD by Leonard Lee. I like it more than his book.

Dewey Torres
12-15-2008, 10:37 PM
When it comes to WW books Taunton is hard to beat:

http://www.amazon.com/Tauntons-Complete-Illustrated-Guide-Sharpening/dp/1561586579/ref=pd_bbs_sr_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1229398594&sr=8-2

Orlando Gonzalez
12-15-2008, 10:38 PM
I am also a newbie and the books I got were:

Leonard Lee's The Complete Guide to Sharpening
Ian Kirby's Sharpening With Waterstones
Thomas Lie-Nilesen's Complete Illustrated Guide To Sharpening (Tauton)

I have 2 of David Charlesworths's Hand Tool Techniques DVDs because I also like using jigs (he is very deliberate in his presentation):

Plane Sharpening and Precision Preparation of Chisels for Accurate Joinery

I know that there are DVDs out there by Rob Cosman, Chris Schwarz, and others that address sharpening but I haven't sampled them.

Bottom line is there is no One book/DVD that will answer all your questions. I Googled sharpening/grinding of blades and chisels and had a plethora of information from which to choose from. Also visit SMC member Johnny Kleso's site at rexmill.com he has a ton of info on sharpening. Additionally, do a search in the Neander forum for sharpening and you will also find additional information on the subject. You are going to find out that there is more than one way to sharpen chisels and blades. You just need to find what works best for you and go with it but be open to try different methods from time to time.

HTH
OG

Mike Henderson
12-16-2008, 12:03 AM
Personally, I don't much like DVD's because they take too much time to watch and it's difficult to go back and review a point later. I much prefer a book or web page. Given that, I like Leonard Lee's book on sharpening.

Mike