PDA

View Full Version : Nearly finished bench

David Klink
06-14-2004, 2:10 AM
I'm almost finished building my first workbench. It's basically only the fourth piece of furniture I've built, the others being a glider bench, a sewing station, and a massive CD/video tape storage unit. It's my first time using box joints, M&T, and making an edge glued top.

All it needs is hardware for the doors and to be finished. Not sure how I'm going to do the finishing yet. I'm not too experienced there.

The top and skirt are red and white oak, the vises are Brazilian cherry, the base is stained pine, and the cabinet is particle board with oak veneer plywood laminated to it. I used elements from benches I've seen, but the design is basically my own, which I have to admit is a good feeling. The only other thing I made without a plan is the media storage unit.

Kind of a departure for me, since I've mostly built lighthouses to sell, and dabble quite a bit in intarsia. (They're both easier on the back!)

Here are some pictures. It's a little on the dusty side for now. Any finishing suggestions would be welcomed with open arms, as I'm not quite decided. I lean towards a wipe on poly, but that's hardly set in stone.

http://home.comcast.net/~dklink913/bench6.jpg
http://home.comcast.net/~dklink913/bench7.jpg
http://home.comcast.net/~dklink913/bench8.jpg

Tyler Howell
06-14-2004, 5:15 AM
Dave, It's a beauty!;)

David Klink
06-14-2004, 5:49 AM
Thank you, Tyler!

Herb Blair
06-14-2004, 6:16 AM
David,
You have something to be proud of. I did my bench with simular legs/feet as yours, but yours is much prettier!

David Klink
06-14-2004, 6:41 AM
Thank you, Herb. I try to watch the pride thing(It goeth before a fall.), but I am pleased with it.

I'll probably avoid using it to any degree for awhile. Stick it against the back wall of the garage, and wipe every speck of dust that falls on it off for a month or so.;)

Dominic Greco
06-14-2004, 7:31 AM