PDA

View Full Version : Coreldraw, which version is best?

Glinda Fabok
12-10-2008, 4:21 PM
I'm a newbie and I'm in the process of buying a Universal Versa system. I need to purchase Coreldraw and I would like to know if the x4 version is the latest one, and would anyone recommend it?

Brian Robison
12-10-2008, 4:42 PM
Hi Glinda,
I have V12 but need to upgrade. I would suggest X4, it's the latest one.

Mike Mackenzie
12-10-2008, 4:43 PM
Glinda,

X4 is the latest version, you could probably get X3 at a really good price and there is not much difference. Either version will work fine.

Glinda Fabok
12-10-2008, 4:57 PM
Thanks guys, I'll look into the X3 if it will save a few bucks at this point. Glinda

Michael Kowalczyk
12-10-2008, 5:53 PM
Glinda,
There are a few new things in X4 that X3 does not have. #1 is the center line trace. This was in V12 but missed X3 somehow but now it is back in X4 and better raster to vector conversions/tracing.

Go look at the Corel X4 website and find the "What's new in X4" and see if there is anything that X4 has that X3 does not and make your decision that way. Or like many others here like myself have upgraded to X4 because we see the benefits.

May I suggest also the following:
if you laser as a hobby, go ahead and get X3 since time is not as much an concern.
If you laser to put food on the table and gas in the car/truck, in other words full time business, then get X4 because it will save you time and can do somethings that X3 can't or not as easily.

Hope this helps and ...

Andrey Anfimov
12-10-2008, 6:21 PM
I use only three programs:
Photoshop, AutoCad and Adobe Illustrator.
Practically you can use any program which can print documents and drawings.

From User Manual for PLS (june 2007):
Recommended Software Programs.

ULS does not guarantee software compatibility with any off-the-shelf software program that has
not been written by ULS. However, the following suggested programs are widely used by ULS