PDA

View Full Version : Pocket Door

Jerry Solomon
06-10-2004, 5:53 PM
Hope I can get some advice from some experienced home construction folks or designers in the group. We are planning a remodel of our master bathroom. The area consists of a tub/toilet room with a 24" entry door and a vanity area which is basically open to the bedroom. The only partition between the vanity area and the bedroom is a half-wall with a set of 3 spindles for the upper part. The bedroom has a simple vaulted ceiling about 12 ft. high at the peak. We are considering removing the half wall and possibly installing a pocket door to close off the vanity area for early risers. The ceiling rafters are oriented perpendicular to the spindle wall. My question is this...is the spindle/half wall a load bearing wall? How can you tell? I wouldn't expect the builder to use spindles for loads but maybe they did. I've attached a photo to clarify the situation.

Chris Padilla
06-10-2004, 6:09 PM
Jerry,

I'm no expert but I have time! :) I seriously doubt that the spindles used would be code for a supporting wall. Even at that, it is a pretty short wall.

Any chance you can see what spans the distance from the (obvious) supporting wall to what I assume is an exterior wall? Is there attic space above the bathroom ceiling? Maybe you could pull down some light fixtures and poke your head up there or use a mirror?

Depending on the extent of the remodel, you could always remove some drywall and go exploring.

Is the dark brown trim crown moulding or is it flat on the wall? It looks like it might be hiding a beam but I can't tell angles from the pictures. I'd say odds are good its a beam and you are all set for support.

Jerry Solomon
06-10-2004, 7:35 PM
Chris - A little follow-up.....