PDA

View Full Version : Table Saw opinions needed

Justin Leiwig
12-08-2008, 12:50 PM
Ok..so apparently I go through tablesaws like underwear.

I purchased my first tablesaw (a crapsman) for $50 bucks plus it came with 10 blades.

I sold that a month ago for $125 on craiglist.

I picked up an old delta tablesaw that had actual metal and cast iron unlike the crapsman for $160 including a Delta mobile base kit.

I tore it apart, cleaned everything, sanded the rust off the top and did the t-9/wax bit.

Now I'm thinking about upgrading again :confused: I think I could sell my current rehab project for another profit, and only have to contribute a couple of cnotes out of my pocket for the new saw.

I was debating between the Delta contractors saw that Lowes offers with dual cast iron extension wings or the Ridgid 3660 at Home Depot. I have no experience with the Delta at Lowes, but my buddy has the 3660 and it's a very nice saw. The Delta is $100 cheaper, but that seems to be the only difference. The delta model at lowes is 36-979.

Any opinions on either saw? And has anyone seen the granite topped Ridgid that Hd has online?

Cary Falk
12-08-2008, 1:19 PM
IF I were you I would be tempted to go with this for $599. HD does not stock them but I hear you can have it delivered to the store for $0. Hybrid, Granite top, Riving knife, cabinet mounted trunions. Find a 10% coupon. What more could you want.
http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/productImages/300/4d/4d0b446b-1442-4f6a-88a7-e0584ce880b8_300.jpg

Charles P. Wright
12-08-2008, 1:46 PM
IF I were you I would be tempted to go with this for $599. HD does not stock them but I hear you can have it delivered to the store for $0. Hybrid, Granite top, Riving knife, cabinet mounted trunions. Find a 10% coupon. What more could you want.
http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/productImages/300/4d/4d0b446b-1442-4f6a-88a7-e0584ce880b8_300.jpg

I have a 3650, and if I were buying a new saw today, I would get the new RIDGID.

scott spencer