PDA

View Full Version : Square vs Round Dogs - Any advantage

Lyndon Graham
12-04-2008, 6:46 PM
As you can tell, I am new to this. I am about to build a cabinet makers workbench.

Any reason I should go with square versus round. I like the looks and tradition of the square, but the rounds are easier to make and seem to have most of the advantages.

Thanks

Josiah Bartlett
12-04-2008, 7:03 PM
My bench has round dogs, and they are fine except for one thing- there is no way to keep them from spinning in their bore. This is not normally a problem, but if you are using two dogs to hold a corner it tends to slip around a little. This is good if you want to keep the square corners of the dog from marring the work but not so good from a keeping the work still standpoint.

I would prefer square dogs. If you are concerned about marring you can file the corners off the square dogs, but round dogs won't index or hold from turning.

David DeCristoforo
12-04-2008, 7:20 PM
It's easier for round dogs to catch their own tails....

Eddie Darby
12-04-2008, 9:06 PM
If you are holding something that is not flat and straight, but round and curved, or even slanted, then round dogs will adjust in their holes to hold the unconventional shape well.

Perhaps you can go with a combo of both.

Ed Howe
12-04-2008, 9:06 PM
It's easier for round dogs to catch their own tails....

And roll over.

Sorry, couldn't resist.

Jim McFarland
12-04-2008, 11:36 PM
I went with round holes and Wonder Pups & Bench Pups from Lee Valley:
http://www.leevalley.com/wood/page.aspx?c=2&p=31130&cat=1,41637,41645

No regrets with the combination.

Jim Koepke
12-05-2008, 1:07 AM
My bench came with round holes and they work fine for me.

One possibility that has crossed my mind is to have square holes and make pieces to fit into them to take the 3/4 round accessories.

This would likely give the best of both worlds.

Then again, it may not work at all.

jim

Chuck Saunders
12-05-2008, 8:26 AM