PDA

View Full Version : How to make wood look rustic? Which wood?

Lyndon Graham
12-03-2008, 8:36 PM
I am planning my 1st major peoject. I saw a set of shelves in Texas. They were wester / Southwestern design. They were massive in thickness (2" thick finished) and the wood was very coarse grained (mesquite possibly) and they cost $5,000. I would like to make something similar.

I can't afford mesquite and am not a good enough woodworker to to handle it. I was thiking redwood. Strarting with 10/4 if I can find it amd planing back to 2". Thoughts?

As far as the look of the wood, I don't think it is possible to make wood look like mesquite. So I was thinking of just a rustic look. I saw a floor in Texas and thought that may look good as shelves. See photo below.

To do this easily, the Festool 850 with the special blade would set me back $650.

A Bosch planer is $199 and a scrub plane ($140) would be $340.

I have never done anyhthing like this before. Are both of these options viable? Is one preferred? Anything I am missing?

http://s-lgraham.smugmug.com/photos/429875582_Afnkf-M.jpg

Scott Rollins
12-03-2008, 10:05 PM
A scrub plane will look more random than the pic shown. I have done this and it turns out well. I used a 45 degree crosshatch pattern with a fine shaving. Where the grain gets curvy a staight edge clamped to the board helps with guiding the plane as well as keeping it relatively even. I marked a pattern (1" i think) and clamped the staight edge and in about 15-20 minutes I had finished a 48" x 24" table top. I then sanded with a sanding pad (the sponge type) covered in sheets of sandpaper to soften the crests and it was done.
The Veritas (Leevalleydotcom) scrub is great. I use it all the time to rough flatten boards now.

Carlos Alden
12-03-2008, 10:27 PM