PDA

View Full Version : Running Sub Panel and Looking for Advice

Dwain Lambrigger
12-02-2008, 6:08 AM
All,

I am going to run a sub panel in my garage to run my power tools. I have the following

1) Shop Fox 3 HP 220v table saw
2) Delta 2 HP 220v RAS
3) Jet 1 HP dust collector
4) Rigid jointer (don't know hp, but can't be over 1 HP)
5) Rigid CMS
6) Jet 1.5 HP 110V Bandsaw

I know the only things I will run simultaneously are the DC and any of the power tools. I will also be running a bunch of hand power tools (routers, biscuit jointer, sanders, etc.

Is a 60 amp subpanel enough to get this done? My FIL is an electrician, and he has stated this will work. I don't want to wish I had more later, but I don't want to break the bank with a larger sub panel, wire, etc.

I am not an electrician, so any advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Dwain

Maurice Ungaro
12-02-2008, 6:27 AM
Go for 100 amp if you can swing it.

Rod Sheridan
12-02-2008, 9:25 AM
Hi, my shop runs from a 30 ampere feeder, except for the lights.

Here are my loads;

- 1.5 HP cyclone

- 3 HP General saw, 3HP General shaper, 4HP planer/jointer

- smaller machines such as 2HP bandsaw, drill press, lathe etc.

My Cyclone draws 8.5 Amperes continuously, my tablesaw 12.5 amperes at maximum load, normally probably half that.

So 30 amperes meets my needs.

For your shop lets use the following

3 HP Machines (Tablesaw at present) (20A 240V circuit)

2HP Cyclone (future dust collector) (15A 240 Circuit)

2 X 15A lighting circuits

All your machines would use the same 20A 240V circuit, in addition if run as a split circuit, it will also provide two 20A 120V circuits for portable power tools, all from a single 20 2P breaker.

So you would need a 6 space panel for the above, and the load above wouldn't exceed 40 amperes if you fully utilized the above circuits to 80% load.

Unless you want to add heat or air conditioning a 60 ampere panel would more than cover all your needs, one with 10 spaces would be fine.