PDA

View Full Version : Audio/Home Theater Gurus--Need a new subwoofer

Matt Meiser
12-01-2008, 8:23 AM
Our home theater system uses a complete set of Paradigm speakers I bought right after I graduated from college in the mid-90s. If anyone knows anything about them I think they are Atoms in the front and Micros in the rear. We also have, or I guess I should say had a PS-800 subwoofer and I can't remember what the center channel speaker is and its kind of hard to get to the back right now. I believe this is an 8" sub, with a 110W continuous amp.

This morning my daughter spilled a glass of water someone left sitting on the subwoofer and it ran down the back and inside the amp. Before I could do much, there was a burning smell. I took out the amp and don't see anything obvious, but after drying out and putting it back together it just hums. I'm going to contact the local dealer but I expect repair is going to be pretty expensive because of shipping and I read while Googling that Paradigm won't sell parts.

Paradigm apparently doesn't make this sub anymore. And after checking Best Buy and Crutchfield it doesn't look like 8" subs are that common anymore. Best Buy has an 8" 100W RMS by MTX. Best Buy has a Polk 10" with a 100W RMS amp and Crutchfield has a Boston Accoustics with the same specs. All are about $200. Like anything, there is a big range of prices. There are 10" powered subs from $99 and up.

Can anyone recommend a sub for me that won't overpower my speakers? How important is subwoofer quality?

Sean Troy
12-01-2008, 8:39 AM
If you have to replace, go with the BA or find a similar size Klipsch. They will last for years and have truly wonderful sound. Great value for price.

Al Willits
12-01-2008, 8:44 AM
SVS subs, killer units and they are really great to deal with.
I have the PB 12, and they have models to fit any HT system.

http://www.svsound.com/

They have no retail stores but the reviews from people who have them is excellent.