PDA

View Full Version : used bowl coring tool

Duff Bement
11-26-2008, 10:54 AM
Do bowl coring tool sets ever come up? I would like to try one but the $250+ price tag scares me. I don't know if I would use it enough to get my money back or even like turning that way. Any opinions on waiting for a used one or should I just bite the bullet and buy a new one?
Duff

Nathan Hawkes
11-26-2008, 11:36 AM
Well, I'm no expert with corers, but I do own a McNaughton set--the "regular" one, with four knives, I think. Like yourself, I searched for a while for used ones on ebay and various woodworking sites. I did find one, but was beaten to the punch by someone else. My limited experience with searching tells me people aren't getting rid of their coring devices very often. That said, it will more than pay for itself quite rapidly if you do a lot of turning, or a little more slowly if you don't do a lot of turning.