PDA

View Full Version : Tablesaw vs Bandsaw (for the Handtool shop)

John Dykes
11-25-2008, 6:30 PM
This is a hand tool question... really.

I've been making saw dust for about 10 years now. My first stationary tool was a Unisaw - that has since been sold off (.COM bust and moving cross country). It was replaced with a Delta contractor's saw.

The more I work with hand tools, the less I use the table saw. I'm trying to think how it's used.... Basic "rough" ripping, sheet stock - and that's about it. Everything I do is fine tuned with hand tools.

So as my hand tool skills increase, the less reliance I have on a "super-accurate," well tuned table saw. But I do find myself wishing I had a bandsaw - to take my work to the next level. Curves, cabriole legs, resawing...

I've always owned a tablesaw... Always. But never even touched a bandsaw.... I don't have the capital (financial nor spousal) for both. I'm leaning heavily towards selling my tablesaw and accessories and buying the G0513x2 bandsaw.

For someone trying to focus on hand tools (in a blended shop), does this thinking make any sense? Or should I be slapped (well, in reference to getting rid of my tablesaw)? Guess it's like letting go of my woodworking blankie....

(I do have a circular saw w/ a guide...).

Thoughts?

- jbd in Denver

Ben Fleis
11-25-2008, 6:44 PM
I have both, and there are only 2 operations for which I really prefer the tablesaw. One of them is a square cross cut, which you can do on a shooting board... although if the TS is not well set, a shooting board is a good idea afterward regardless. The other operation is a parallel rip. The BS will rough rip nicely, but if you want something strongly resembling a parallel line, either a TS or a thicknesser save lots of work. I suppose cutting miters is also nice on a TS, although I have always finished them on donkey ears or some other hand apparatus.