PDA

View Full Version : Grinder wheel selection...help!

Colin Wollerman
11-24-2008, 7:26 PM
Hi Guys,
Newbie here,
I am slowly reaching a point of turning some keepers but could use some insight on sharpening.
I just picked up a 6" 3450 RPM DELTA BG from craigs fer $20. Like new.
I know I want (need?) a high quality white Alu. Oxide wheel
Here is the rub...
I am using economy tools and turning on a ShopSmith. I will, however, be working with KOA
Q; Do I need the $30 Norton white wheel? Is this the one place I should spend the money?

Q; What is the ideal combo for a novice?
Example; One gray 80 grit and one white premium 120

Woodcraft suggest one pink med and one white fine

Wheel dressing;
Are the diamond dressers a must?

Any insight would be appreciated, I want to save money but I don't want to waste it either.
Thanks in advance,
Colin

curtis rosche
11-24-2008, 8:11 PM
from what i have heard on this site. a diamond dresser is a must since wheels arent perfectly balanced to begin with. it also cleans your wheels after a lot of grinding.
the white wheel should work fine. as for grit that is up to you.
at school we have a 100 grit wheel, just a plain one, nothin specail, and that works fine, here at home my stepdad has a very fine white wheel, 200 grit or something like that. the coarser the grit, the quicker the grinding. the finer the grit the finer the edge and the longer grind time.

what i have gather from other posts, a 120 wheel should be perfect. no one really goes finer, except for a special project that requires it, like one that cant be sanded much because of oily woods. oh yeah and those few crazy people who like to take a shaving razor to their projects before sanding.

oh yeah, andd fyi, koa may be a bit much for a shop smith. you might want to search that same sight that you got the grinder on and look for a mini or midi lathe. they will have less problems, they are more stable, as in less spindle vibration, and the threads would be more common