PDA

View Full Version : Which Tool Next?

Jason Hanko
11-24-2008, 6:13 PM
Hey all,
I’ve been doing amateur woodworking for several years now, and am (slowly) building up my collection of tools. Ive got most of the basics to do what I need to do around the house, but Im getting to that point where I’d like to start adding the “serious woodworker” tools and transition from basic home repair projects/shelf building to finer furniture and heirloom projects. I got my Grizzly catalog in the mail a few weeks ago and I feel like I want one of everything, but don’t have the funds to make more than one purchase a year or so.

Currently I have:
∙ 10’’ contractor table saw
∙ 10’’ CSMS
∙ plunge/fixed base router combo
∙ jigsaw
∙ skillsaw
∙ combo belt/disc sander
∙ cordless drill/finishing sanders/misc hand tools.

So go ahead, spend my money! What’s the next step – Planer? Jointer? Bandsaw? Drill Press? (I have a separate account slowwwly saving for a ClearVue DC).
Thanks for your input!

Ben Martin
11-24-2008, 6:25 PM
I vote for whatever tool you can get a good deal on. I have so far amassed a jointer, table saw, drill press, bandsaw and disc sander by surfing the net and looking for what is available. The MS Cashback deal has been good to me.

But to add to that, I don't buy new tools only used ones, so you get what you take. Being in Chicago makes that possible for me too...

Paul Ryan
11-24-2008, 6:36 PM
Jason