PDA

View Full Version : Questions regarding floor joists and wood ceiling

Rob Noble
11-23-2008, 7:33 PM
Hi all, glad I found this site. Completely by accident lol. I'm not really a woodworker, I am a sheetmetal worker by trade. I did however have 4 years of wood work in HS but that was a long time ago and currently am remodeling my old house.

Question #1: Whoever built this place never had any intention of using the upstairs as they used 2x6 for floor joists, or should I say ceiling rafters. They are old and strong, but not really suitable by themselves. I've heard different oppinions but would like more before I forge forward. I do "not" want to remove them because I wish to remodel the upstairs first then the downstairs and there removal would require both to be done at once. So.....I am considering scabbing on to them. What size? I've heard another 2x6 is sufficient but im thinking 2x8. Ideas?

Question #2: I just vaulted the front room. I used tongue and groove pine. The peak is 24' tall, it turned out awesome. At the present moment, which isn't a rarity the last few years, I am laid off. Therefore I am considering some perhaps crazy ideas to save $ and want to run them by you. The upstairs room is fairly large, 36x28 and peaks at 18'. I am aware of most of the vaulting stuff, air spaces, etc etc.

My question is this: Not wanting to spend a ton of money right now I am considering making my own t&g boards. Earlier today I experimented by taking a 2x6 and cutting it in half lengthwise so essentially I ended up with (2) 1x6's. I was able to get them pretty darn close to the same width. I am considering buying the nicer 2x6's with a smooth side on each and to keep from getting a really boring flat look I have a router and will go down the middle of each board with some sort of cutout.

I discovered a 2x6 cut in half roughly yields a 5/8" thick board, is that sufficient to make a t&g joint and can you buy router bits that would work on a 5/8" board??