PDA

View Full Version : Planer Problems

Joe Austin
11-22-2008, 5:37 PM
I have a DeWalt 12-1/2 heavy duty portable thickness planer that I am having a problem with. When I pass a piece of stock thru, the feed end will come out thinner then the rest of the stock. The table extensions are all aligned properly per the instruction manual. I am a novice and weekend woodworker so I don't use this every day but I needed to know why this is happening and if it is common. It is getting frustrating. Am I supposed to waste the inch or two that is cut thinner or is something wrong with my machine? It has always done this but I just wasted the end but now I am working with short stock of ebony that I have and can't afford to waste the ends. Are there any adjustments that I should be looking at or what am I missing.

One more bit of info: The feed end that comes out thinner seems to be perhaps the length of the diameter of the cutter head and is radiused up to the proper thickness as if the cutter head raises slightly after the first rotation.

I hope this explanation makes sense. Thanks in advance

Yves Pinet
11-22-2008, 5:42 PM
Sounds like snipe. This happens because the weight of the board brings the end up after it passes the front roller. Two solutions are to hold the piece up for the last little bit to prevent this, or to feed a second board right after the first. With short pieces of ebony, I would tend to use the first solution, and make your cuts very shallow.

glenn bradley
11-22-2008, 6:07 PM
Yep, snipe. As Yves points out this is caused by the material meeting the cutterhead at an upward angle. When the rear roller gains control and flattens the board path out, the desired thickness is cut. Some folks pick this up on the trailing end by letting the material sag out of the planer.