PDA

View Full Version : turning green with osage orange

Hal Taft
11-17-2008, 11:53 PM
While firewood pile diving, I came accross a couple of interesting 10" or so Osage Orange trunk sections, freshly cut. For some reason around here everyone thinks of Osage as firewood, both a good and bad thing. Yes, it makes a great fire (the bad thing) , but you can often find nicely seasoned chunks on your neighbor's pile (the good thing) . I've never tried green turning before, and now I understand more clearly why I need a tennon grabbing chuck. It's just not very practical to rough turn and DNA treat and then re-turn blanks any other way. I guess I'll be picking up a Talon soon, with that great sale on. Meanwhile, back on the impractical front, I've roughed out a NE HF (gotta love acronyms !) and am seeing if it will glue-mount for turning out the inside, though I'm going to back up the glue with some screws into the thick bottom after the glue sets. The tree is an Osage in my front yard. I love it, but nothing lasts forever.

Hal

Matt Wolboldt
11-17-2008, 11:56 PM
Hal,

Do you have to watch out for checking in the pith of the HF? I see that you kept the very center of the tree in your turning? It looks really nice though.
Thanks

Richard Madison
11-18-2008, 12:19 AM
Hal,

Outstanding endgrain photo. And good luck with the piece on the lathe.

Leo Van Der Loo
11-18-2008, 4:48 AM
You better hurry up, that stuff's going to be very hard real soon :eek: :D :p

Nice stuff, good going :cool:

Jim Becker
11-18-2008, 8:34 AM
I think turning wet Osage Orange should be referred to as "turning yellow" rather than "turning green"... :D :D :D

Wonderful stuff, although it will crack easily if your wall thickness is uneven...and definitely avoid the pith for this species!

Bernie Weishapl
11-18-2008, 9:55 AM