PDA

View Full Version : NEC Help/Books/Etc.

Chris Padilla
06-01-2004, 12:12 PM
This is probably more of a question for our resident (non-professional) electrician, Mr. Rob Russell.

Short of purchasing the whole NEC book, are there good books out there for the DIYer?

I certainly have a good grasp of electronics (being an EE) but I'm no electrician by any stretch of the imagination.

I have plans to gut my garage and rewire the whole thing and I'd like to do it by the book as much as possible.

Short of heading to the local h/w store or the borg, I guess I should find the place where the electrcians head for their supplies.

Steven Wilson
06-01-2004, 12:23 PM
Chris,

You can take a look at "Code Check Eletrical" which is a very short, terse, and geared towards residental wiring (forget motor circuits). There is also the "2002 NEC Residential Pocket Guide ($26)" and a companion one for industrial but the cost together is $52, so up there with the NEC. The McGraw-Hill's National Electrical Code Handbook is very good at explaining the various parts of the NEC ($80). The problem with all the books is that they reference tables in the NEC that are only found in the NEC, so you need the NEC to go with them and that costs $55 for the softbound copy. Of course the NEC should be available as a reference at your local library and the cost is free !

Chris Padilla
06-01-2004, 12:27 PM
Library!! You know, I often overlook this valuable source of information! I don't even think I've been to my local library and I've driven by it at least 250 times in the last 5 years! Very sad....

Thanks!! :D

A question I have right now is about #10 stranded wire. Are there special outlets that can more easily handle this gauge of wire or are there "crimp on" terminals for handling this wire? The borg didn't have #10 solid or I might've considered solid over stranded.

Steven Wilson
06-01-2004, 1:00 PM