PDA

View Full Version : Shaper questions?

Wes Billups
11-13-2008, 9:09 PM
I just upgraded from a 1hp shaper to a 3hp with Maggi powerfeeder and was looking for input on using the powerfeeder. I've never used a powerfeeder before and would like to get input/warnings.

I'd also like to see how others store their cutters. I've been using a drawer in my old shaper but the new one doesn't have one, only an enclosed cabinet.

Thanks,
Wes

Rick Fisher
11-13-2008, 9:59 PM
Hey, nice additon to the shop.

I store my shaper bits in a drawer. They are wrapped up in cloth.

I have a 3hp with a 3 wheel maggi powerfeeder. I am no expert but I can tell you what I do.

I set the feeder up so its tilted toward the fence, so the material is forced against the fence as its fed through. I set the wheels 1/4" to 5/16" lower than the stock so the wheels have to climb as the stock is fed in.

I also set it up so there is a wheel behind and in front of the bit. (make sure the bit and center wheel are free of each other :) )

For safety, dont let the wheels pinch your fingers and dont stand behind the work.

Wes Billups
11-13-2008, 10:05 PM
Thanks for the help. The feeder I bought has belts in place of wheels, I was wondering if I should set it up any differently due to this.

David DeCristoforo
11-13-2008, 10:36 PM
The "tractor" style feeders work pretty much the same way as the wheeled feeders with one very significant exception. With the wheels, you can "nest" the cutter between two wheels allowing you to get the feeder "in closer" when you need to. The belt cannot be positioned so close. Also. I consider the rubber part of the wheels to be "sacrificial" to a certain extent. I always have a few extra wheels around and some that have been "dedicated" to certain setups in which it was beneficial to "let the cutter in" to one of the wheels. (Of course you need to avoid hitting the metal portion of the wheel!) But this is not an option with a "tractor" style feeder.

Ron Bontz