PDA

View Full Version : How often do you change your oil?

Tim Thomas
11-11-2008, 2:57 PM
I just took my wife's new Honda Civic in for the first oil change. Honda recommends in the owner's manual that you change the oil every 7,500 miles. That seems high to me, but I went with the recommendation and pulled into the service station today with 7,497 miles on the car. In passing I mentioned the seemingly high number of miles between oil changes to the guy who was working on my car and he said that he still does his oil changes every 3000 miles, no matter what the manufacturer recommends. Basically he said that the various cleaners and other additives in the oil are used up long before you would get to 7,500 miles, so you should change it out more often. I didn't know what to make of his statement that "They don't make oil that will last 7,500 miles."

I'm not a car expert by any means. I don't even change my own oil. So I have no idea who to believe on this one. For reasons of pure logic I am tempted to go with what Honda says. How would it benefit them to tell me to do oil changes less frequently than I really should? I have a factory warranty on my engine and if every 7,500 miles isn't often enough to keep it in good shape then they are the ones who would have to foot the bill for premature engine damage, right? And certainly it benefits the oil change businesses to encourage you to come in more often because they get more money, so of course they would want me to come in every 3,000 miles instead of every 7,500. Honda has built their reputation on making cars that are pretty much bulletproof, so why would they tell their customers to do something that could jeopardize the longevity of the car?

Anyway, I've rambled enough, let's get to the question: If manufacturer's recommendation for changing the oil on your car is greater than every 3,000 miles do you go with that recommendation or do you stick with the tried-and-true 3,000 miles/3 months figure?