PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a lathe

Sam Anderson
05-29-2004, 2:09 PM
I am a beginner and would like some opinions as to what type of Wood Lathe I should buy. I want to make crow calls, and Turkey call Strikers. Most likely no more than 8" long. Not looking for anyhting fancy and don't have a whole lot of room, want something that will sit on a bench in the garage.:) Do they make a wood lathe that has a variable speed without changing the belts.

Jim Becker
05-29-2004, 2:45 PM
No question, something like the Jet VS Mini would be an excellent choice for the type of work you want to do. Quality machine and just the right size...and don't let it fool you, it can do long work, too, for furniture with the bed extension.

Ken Salisbury
05-30-2004, 7:58 AM
No question, something like the Jet VS Mini would be an excellent choice for the type of work you want to do. Quality machine and just the right size...and don't let it fool you, it can do long work, too, for furniture with the bed extension.Darn - I hate to do this, (agree with Jim that is :D ), however he is right on !!. The Jet Mini is just right for what you want to do. If my Mini went up in smoke tomorrow, I would have another one in it's place before the sun went down.

Sam Anderson
05-30-2004, 9:27 AM
Thanks I will check into them. :D

Doug Jones
05-30-2004, 11:11 AM
I have no idea what a crow call and a turkey call striker is,, but if money is an issue, you may want to look into a "Wilton" lathe from Menards. I had one given to me and its a good entry level lathe for the pens I turn. Its variable speed and under $100. I've even seen it for $88 on sale. Comes with a 3" and 6" face plate also has the spurs on the head stock and tail stock. Also has the tool rest. Basicly its got everything a person needs to get started except the chisels.

Speaking of chissels, HF has theirs on sale for $29 again.

Travis Lanman
05-31-2004, 12:18 AM