PDA

View Full Version : Tempest 2.5 hp Cyclone. What do you think

John Hedges
11-10-2008, 1:10 PM
I am looking to upgrade to a cyclone from a 2hp single stage DC.

I have been running a 6" network with 4" drops for a couple of years now with a PSI DC2000. This has worked very well until recently. Basically I added a run to a 20" BS that has 2 ports and it just isn't moving enough air at those outlets. Additionally I would like to have some more air flow at my miter station, and would like to get some of the ducting off the floor to reclaim some space. I have a very small shop which is 28' x 10' so I don't need anything real big.

After looking around I ruled out the new JDS because the size and shape of a traditional cyclone will work better with my layout and I won't need the mobility. I also ruled out Grizzly because of the motors and length of warranty. The Oneida's, while very nice, are also exhorbidantly expensive, and while the Clear Vue also looks nice it seems to only be available in 5hp, which would be complete overkill in my shop, and would require me to change out the electrical hookup. I noticed that the new Tempest has a 5 year warranty on the motor and blower assembly and is priced very well. I know it did not do as well as the Grizzly and Oneida in some of the tests I have seen but the numbers looked like they would be fine in my shop. Especially since I will have 1 straight 25' run across the shop with drops directly off the main trunk, and all of the biggest tools from a waste perspective will be located very close to the collector. So I am looking for input from anyone who has experience with the 2.5 hp PSI Tempest.
http://www.pennstateind.com/graphics/400px/TEMP1425S.jpg

John Bailey
11-10-2008, 1:51 PM
Well - it looks better than the yellow, orange, blue, etc.;);)

John

John Thompson
11-10-2008, 3:01 PM