PDA

View Full Version : Drying green wood with Denatured Alcohol

Eugene Wigley
11-07-2008, 11:17 PM
I plan on turning some bowls using green wood in the next few days. I have never done this before. I know that I need to rough turn the bowls to about 1/2" thick then let the wood dry before I finish turning the bowl. My question is how long do I soak the bowls in DNA and how long do I let the wood dry after I remove the bowl from the DNA? I know that dry times for wood can depend on a lot of variables. I will be turning Sweet Gum and can store the bowl in what ever way will work the best while I wait for it to dry.

Thanks in advance

Steve Schlumpf
11-08-2008, 12:21 AM
Eugene - I use the DNA method all the time and find that it is best to leave the thickness around 10% of the diameter of the bowl. If not - you may run out of wood when you go to finish turn the bowl!

For lots more info on this subject - check this out: http://www.woodcentral.com/cgi-bin/readarticle.pl?dir=turning&file=articles_473.shtml

Hope that helps!

Eugene Wigley
11-08-2008, 10:17 AM
Steve, thanks for the help. I read the article. I don,t think I will have any problems.

Bernie Weishapl
11-08-2008, 10:33 AM
Eugene I use it DNA. I soak my bowls a minimum of 48 hrs. and have left them in for a week with no problems. I wrap with a brown grocery bag like the article. I find most blanks are dry in 2 to 4 weeks. Like Steve said leave the bowl 10% of the diameter.

Dan Oliphant
11-08-2008, 1:13 PM
Also keep in mind that the time of year plays into the length time the item needs for drying. When the Rh is low the piece will dry faster, even when double baged (the method I use). Don't be in a rush when using DNA/Bagging methods, more drying time the better. Even with this method, if your piece has some portions that are thicker than others, the thinner areas will be more likely crack.

David Pearson
11-23-2008, 12:40 AM